Need to Ask a Question please....

gdlemaire

Hello,

Newbie here; just joined. Question for the group please:

My friend's husband just passed from LC; she wants to point friends to a charity to make donations in his name. Any idea on what other's have done?

Suggest those who wish to donate to

1. Am. Lung Assoc - National or local affiliate in name of deceased?

2. Am. Cancer Society (national or local)

3. Lung Cancer group??? Which one would you suggest? Where? Locally in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area where we live or to a National Headquarters?

Thanks for your opinions...we are in need of a little assistance from you experts.

PS: I'm a 2x LC survivor also. First diagnosed in 1992/surgery; reoccurance in 1999/2nd surgery but I'm still mentally strong and looking ahead with a great attitude. Also survived Breast Cancer in 1988! My hat's off to those of you who have gone through this one way or another and my heart just aches to see some of the posts. Bless you all and keep fighting the good fight!

And yes, I had read that Lungevity originated in Texas...but now you are in Chicagoland ... There are so many good organizations out there to support, but I'm thinking we should do something locally or to a strictly LC organization ... although most LC survivor's wind up with some Asthma too...

Just the same, I'm going to wait for others to weigh in and Thanks to you for your reply!!!

Be well,

Gail-

The American Cancer Society and the American Lung Association are fine organizations but they spend very little on lung cancer. Your best place to donate is LUNGevity because it all goes to research and for every dollar you donate it will be matched by their partnering organizations (up to 25% I believe) so your money goes farther and for very innovative research for lung cancer only.