Chemo questions...please help!

ChristineT

*I have no idea if I put this in the right forum so feel free to move if necessary*

My dad started Taxol/Carbo today. He will have treatment once a week for 6 weeks. Can anyone tell me the side effects he *might* experience with this? They gave him a script for anti-nausea meds but my mom can't remember if he is supposed to take them right away or only if he gets nauseous. From what I have read, he needs to stay ahead of the nausea, right? When will any side effects kick in?

I am totally new to this and was unable to go to his appt so any answers would be appreciated! Thanks!

Oh, and also, dad said they gave him some other kind of medication also? You think he would know, right :x What could this have been? I have been reading sometimes they give you a steroid or anti-nausea med before hand. He said after the treatment he was starving (and still was at dinner time). He ate more at lunch than he had in months? I don't get it!

And also from what I have been reading this treatment is usually adminstered once every 3 weeks. He is getting weekly treatments. Does anyone know the difference?

My husband was on carbo, but never Taxol. So I can't offer too much regarding side effects. Regarding the frequency of treatment, oncologists sometimes stray from the 'norm' for a number of reasons. Sometimes it is to administer more or less chemo. In my husband's case, he was given chemo 1x week at one point instead of every 3 weeks so that he could get slightly more chemo, but still preserve his blood counts.

A tip for whoever accompanies Dad to the doctor:

always bring a notepad. So much new information is thrown out during these visits, and often patients and caregivers are tired or emotional. It makes remembering all the details even harder.

Best wishes to your Dad. He is lucky to have you.