Introduction

Justin

Hi everyone,

My name is Justin and I was recently diagnosed with Stage IV NSCLC with EGFR mutation. I am a 20 year veteran and believe that my disease is a result of my service. I just started treatment last week and am participating in a clinical trial up in Boston. If there are any vets in the New England area on this forum that want to connect please let me know.

Hey there...I too am a veteran, 34 yrs in the Army Reserve. Retired out at age 60 as a First Sergeant in the Army Engineer Corp out of Darien, IL. I know what you mean about service connected disease. I was deployed over 4 years; twice to Iraq and once to Afghanistan. I remember well the forever burning dump at Balad and the Poo Pond at Kandahar; both of which were designated environmental hazards. I am 64 now...

After initially being a stage 1a, I was finally staged at 3a after the surgery to remove my RLL also revealed two affected lymph nodes as well. The surgery completely removed the cancerous nodule and the affected lymph nodes but a stage 3a required more be done. Currently I'm just past the first course in a four course adjuvant chemotherapy treatment to take care of any possible cancer that may escape via my lymphatic system. I'm getting my care through the VA and for the most part I've been satisfied, but I do have some complaints. After reading other people's experiences with their care on these forums though, my VA care is probably not any worse or better than others.

These forums are great with the knowledge and support that you can receive from all the different kinds of people and situations that are on here. We may not be medical professionals, but we concentrate more on comparing stories, recognizing the human aspect, and throwing out tips and tricks to handle difficult treatment side effects. So, stay in touch and talk about anything you like here. We'll be here to answer you...