How do you handle being told you are terminally ill?

-Cheryl-

Hello Group,

May I begin by saying that I am a Licenced Professional Counselor. Does that make me special? I am afraid not. It does not make me immune to cancer, or the emotional trauma that accompanies it. I have't really mentioned my profession much, because people have certain expectations for us. I like all of you, have meandered back and forth between emotions. I run the full gamet. I guess the only thing that seperates us is the fact that I went to school to help others deal with life's stresses. I try hard to see the positive in situatios. I have learned quite a bit since being diagnosed. My diagnosis, by know means makes me the resident expert of other people's feeings, but it does give me more awareness of my own. I must tell you that I have my days of doubt too. Yet, this board reminds me of the positives in my life, and I have learned a lot about my self.