Insomniac

Nana Jane

Hi everyone...I'm new to this forum. I'm an oncology nurse who was diagnosed with Stage IV NSCLC in July of this year. I'm in the middle of Taxol and Carboplatin therapy, finding it very difficult. Insomnia seems to be a pretty regular aspect of my daily life. Fortunately I am on extended leave of absence during treatment, so have the luxury of time to take care of myself. Today is a good day, but there have been some pretty dark and scary ones along the way, as you all know. I'm learning new skills since switching from nurse to patient: accepting help from others seems to be my biggest challenge. Would love to hear from other nurses or health care professionals in similar circumstances...how do you make the transition?

Hi Nana...and welcome!

I recently finished 18 weeks of chemo, and I know my sleep schedule was really out of whack for a while......i'd sleep more during my chemo weeks, and then be up all night in between; I'm just now returning to a normal schedule.

I worked as an LPN for 15 yrs.....had recently moved into the Real Estate field (3 yrs ago). I had worked on an oncology floor of a chronic hospital a while ago, and most recently had worked in a nursing home setting where CA was pretty common in the history of my clients.

I find good and bad sides to having the (albeit limited) knowledge that I have. It's an advantage to be able to read and understand the medical "lingo" and "shorthand" that's tossed about; but it's also kinda scary when I can recognize the seriousness of certain symptoms, procedures, etc.....i tend to read more into things than most, I guess.