looking for people to talk to...

Guest loudmouth24

Guest loudmouth24

Hi everyone,

My name is Rose, and I'm a student at Northeastern University in Boston. I am posting because I am writing an article for one of my classes on the effects of secondhand smoke. If anyone out there has been diagnosed with lung cancer, or knows anyone who has been, as a result of secondhand smoke, I would love it if we could chat. I am a huge advocate for lung cancer research, and have close relatives that are suffering with this disease. This article that I am writing is for a class, but it will be posted on the internet. Anyone who would be willing to talk to me , I would be extremely grateful. My aim s/n is Loudmouth24242 and my email is sopko.r@neu.edu.

Thanks so much.

-Rose

Rose,

Secondhand smoke is probably hard to tie to lung cancer. Many of us are exposed to it daily, even smokers.

I choose not to explore that avenue as it would be something that my parent exposed me to or hanging out while in college and I really don't need to "pass the buck" so to speak. I have lung cancer. I never smoked. Doesn't matter my smoking history, I'm here. I have to deal with it, assigning blame doesn't do me a darn bit of good and I'm not going to even start down that road.

I don't think it's the smoking that is the only cause, be it firsthand or secondhand. I think that if a cure were found, a cause would be easier to isolate. Heck, as some have pointed out on the board, it may actually be caused (or some types of it) by a virus, such as cervical cancer is caused by HPV about 98% of the time.

I don't think a virus would be contained in a cigarette...the answer for lung cancer is not going to be found in an ashtray.

Good luck on your research paper.

Becky