swollen gland and a little whine

gail

I have a swollen gland under my jaw, possibly and inch away from the jawbone. And it is painful to the touch.

Now the whine:

Who do i call?

the oncologist

the internist

the ENT (multinodular goiter)

or my dentist? (gum infection?)

Called the onc nurse first, left a message. Called the internist next, could not get an appointment when I wanted, that nurse said the dr would send me to the onc anyway.

Got a call back from the onc nurse. Could be an infection, probably viral, put hot compresses, see you in 2 weeks for scheduled visit.

so I guess I don't panic?

gail

Don'tcha just love the game.........it's called 'The Runnaround'.......... and seems all the docs know how to play it :x ! Like you, I was a sixth grade teacher. Ever wonder what would've happened if WE played that game with parents? SCARY thought! We would have been called on the carpet for sure :evil: ! How about just a regular old appointment with your good ole family doc. Maybe he/she could get something to happen for you. In the meantime, GOOD LUCK with it. We both know, in all actuality it is probably nothing. Wouldn't it be nice to simply think a swollen gland, is a swollen gland, is a swollen gland, and not get all freaked out? Guess those naive days are long gone, huh?

Kasey

Not to panic--easier said than done! Like Kasey said in all probability it is NOTHING. Also good sign that it is tender, I know I read all over that for the "scary" stuff it is typically non-tender.

Whatever you do, and this is coming from someone who would need handcuffs practically, do NOT poke at it. :) That will make it inflame more, I know someone that once happened to.

If panic overcomes you (which hopefully it won't), call back your internist and keep askign for cancellations, maybe he/she can feel it for you and give you reassurance based on the texture.

Take care of yourself.

I can understand your feelings of panic, makes me want to panic just thinking about it.