New to everything

I am new to all of this - cancer, caregiving, message board posting. It's like being a stranger in a foreign land. Anyway, my partner of 23 years was diagnosed with NSCLC - adenocarcinoma, III-B w/ malignant pleural effusion on August 20, 2004. She had 2 thoracenteses and then a pleurodesis to eliminate the pleural space. That was mostly succesful and the fluid buildup has stopped. She is now doing Taxol/Carbo in 3-week cycles (Treatment Friday, then again the next third Friday) She has a very positive attitude and a HUGE faith in God. She believes she will be healed without any doubt at all. This was a huge load on me. I was so devastated with the Dx and so afraid but I could not let that show in front of her. I ended up in counselling and getting in touch with my spiritual beliefs. She is responding very well to her treatments, and we are taking life one day at a time. This whole scene is by far the hardest thing I have ever done. We do expect a miracle, though. Anyone got any advice on how to get a loved one to eat when they have no appetite? That is one of her biggest problems. Thanks for listening!

Hi ?? (could it be Sandy? or should be call you Sand?)

Sounds like you've got all the bases covered - attitude, spirit, hope, determination and God! Can't do much better than that!

Anyone got any advice on how to get a loved one to eat when they have no appetite?