I need help and advice

This is my first time to this board. I am 28 years old and my 63 year old mother just told me she has a tumor by her lung. To say the least I am devastated because she is my best friend and sometimes my only friend. What makes it even harder is the fact that she is in Michigan and I am in Arkansas.

The reason I have come to this board is to ask some questions that I have and I figured this was the best place to look. My mother is having a biopsy done on Monday. I want to go to Michigan now but she told me to wait because she will need the help more once she starts chemo. What I want to know is how long after the biopsy will they start the chemo treatments if she needs them?

I have many more questions but my mind is rattled right now. I would appreciate any help and advice that you could give me. I would truly appreciate it. :(

Hi Micki,

I wish I could give you a big hug right now. I so understand what youa re going through as I am going through the same thing, just a few weeks ahead of you.

I can't guarantee you that your mom will go through exactly what my mom did, but I can tell you what happened with us so you can maybe get an idea of what to expect. My Mom had a lung biopsy on June 10 and began treatment on June 20. Has your mom seen an oncologist yet? He is the one who will recommend and be the catalyst for treament. My mom had radiation (her lung cancer had already metastasized to her brain) and started chemo last Thursday. The chemotherpay did not give her any side effects this treatment, but the nurses told her she would feel the effects by next treatment. She will be receiving chemo every three weeks.

If you have any more questions on anything, please don't hesitate to give a holler. We all need to stick together.

Julie

Dear Micki,

Welcome to our board. You will grow to love these people here as you learn more about l/c.