Follow up and monitoring

Darci

I have a question - my FIL had his last chemo on 12/21 and just finished up his radiation.

He is seeing the surgeon today for a follow up, and apparently he told them that they will be doing x-rays before he sees them.

I am just wondering at what point do they do a follow up Cat Scan or Pet scan or don't they do that unless there is some indication of problems?

We are most concerned with making sure that there is no cancer moving through his lymph nodes-they did surgery to remove the tumor, but it had spread into the lymph nodes, and I don't know how you monitor that??

Thanks!!

My mom just had her first followup CT scan yesterday after her first 6 chemos (taxol) and before she begins her radiation just to see where things stood and how she was responding. I am surprised the doctor hasn't done one at all in your case. I am new to this, but makes me think that there may not be standard "rules" for followup testing. Will be nice to see what the more seasoned folks say.

Linda

My mom gets one every 4-6 weeks. This is possibly because she hasn't done any chemo other than tarceva, and they are monitoring the progression (trying to make decisions on whether or not to do chemo and when).

Remember, you can always ask any question. Call the dr. if you are curious!

:) Kelly

I always worry about this as well. I want them to keep tabs on my moms tumor, especially since it started to grow again after her chemo ended.

My mom had a scan on the last day of Dec that showed growth. She was then sent for a USELESS 2nd opinion which delayed her treatment a few weeks

She started a new chemo back in the end of Jan I guess. Her 3rd treatment will be this Thursday. She is scheduled for a scan very soon...I think next week

So....that will be about 2 1/2 months (9 weeks or so) between scans

Too long for my liking