Realizing There is No Controlling emotions

eppie

At least not these days. Here;s what happened today:

I was coming home from the gym and I saw a car parked strangely by my neighbor's house. I saw my nieghbor's child ( age 12) crying and a stranger carrying a bloody orange cat. I parked in their drive way and howled with the child....My first thought was that it was my beloved orange cat, Jack. I was sobbing and petting it and the child was saying it was not Jack but her cat, Al Sabador. Since it was still alive but banged up so horribly I asked the child to get me a box and a towel.....I wanted to take it to the vet hospital up the road. I did but when i got there the place was closed and the cat was dead. Her parents were't home from work so I really didn;t want her to watch this cat die and I couldn;t stay there and watch it with her given how upset I was.

I feel bad being out of control I was in front of a child. As a teacher I sort of pride myself in being able to be "present" in front of children. The cat's face was so badly injured I really couldn't tell if it was her cat or mine. My cat is her cat's father and has similar markings. I wasn;t really processing very well. So it was a good thing that I got away from the scene. It gave me a chance to get composure. By the time I got back to our houses, her dad was home and could take the body.

Sadly this is the second cat in a week to die at this very same spot. My neighbors and I are going to have to petition the town for some caution signs urging cars to slow down "Children at Play" or even better a speed bump since we are at the entrance to the neighborhood off a fairly busy street.

I am ok now...i freaked out my hubs calling from the cell phone demanding to know where Jack the cat was right now. I am going over to the neighbors' house tomorrow after school to see if they are ok. The emotion was like a storm...a tornado. Luckily, i am intact. Poor kitty.

Sadly,

Eppie

Hi Eppie,