Hi, this is my first time on a forum

Carol1

My husband was diagnosed with Stage 4 Metastatic Lung Cancer with a pleural effusion on July 25th.  The oncologist said he had four to six months without treatment and maybe a year with treatment.  My world fell apart.  I realized I had to pick myself up and give him all the hope and encouragement I could give him. He just had his fourth treatment of chemo and this seems to be the worst for him.  He did really well with the last three with just fatigue.  With the fourth treatment is nauseated from time to time and the fatigue is terrible.  He has been getting three infusions every three weeks. Going forward he will get two infusions every three weeks for the remainder of his life or until his body can’t handle them anymore.  Sometimes I get so scared when I see he isn't having a good day and I think is he starting to go down hill.   Is there anyone on this forum that has had a pleural effusion and that also had a Pleurx catheter inserted.  My husbands was removed because there wasn’t much fluid coming out but he had it for one month and half. There is still fluid in the the Pleurx but not enough to drain.  He was diagnosed with lung cancer in February 2017 and his lower right lobe was removed and staged 1A, which meant he didn’t need treatment. So now a year and a half later he has Stage 4.  I hope everyday when he wakes up that he feels good.  Sometimes he does but it only last for a while. Thanks for taking the time to read my story. 

Hi, Carol, and welcome.  I'm sorry your husband is having such a tough time of it right now.  Has he been tested for genetic markers to see whether he's a candidate for targeted therapy or immunotherapy?  There are also clinical trials for which he might be eligible.  Other members will be along who can provide more helpful information.  I'm one of those who, so far at least, have not needed treatment other than surgery.  Your husband is a reminder that nothing is certain.