Aranesp Risk

raneyf

What do you all think about the article from 2/27 outlining the risks of Aranesp and other drugs that use Epo for chemo induced anemia? My doctor wanted me to either get an Aranesp shot or be in a clinical trial (examining the best schedule of shots) because my Hematocrit is 10.9. It's my understanding that 11 is normal. So I told my clinic that I'm not anemic enough to consider it at this point, given the risk that it could spur tumor growth. I'm going to talk to my doctor about it next week, just wondered if everyone else gets the shot or if anyone had any thoughts.

Raney

Hi, I think the normal range for Hematocrit is about 36-44....Hemoglobin is around 12-14. I'm sure Oncologists have slightly different numbers that they can accept with Oncology patients, but 10 for a crit sounds pretty low. I'm pretty new here, but I was a peds nurse in my previous life! As far as Aranesp, I am also curious about what others think. My mom received it last week as her crit was a little low and she was feeling quite fatigued. It was until after she received it that I heard anything at all about the controversy. Shelley

Dr. West addressed this before. I don't remember if it was here or on ocntalk.com. In general, I don't believe he thought it was a real risk compared to the risk of low cell count. But I could be wrong. Still suffering from chemo brain. Try a search.

I just want to comment about your hemoglobin level.

If I have it at 10.9 I consider myself lucky. And

extremely lucky if it is above 11. Something in my family genes makes the hemoglobin levels so low.

It is not a problem for me. But I could never be a professional athlete with such low levels ! I do get

short of breath while exercising faster than other people.