Still married

teriw

I'm new to the "grief" section. It was two weeks ago today that we lost Bill. I'm still struggling with the realness of it all. Life is starting to settle down a bit, with my wonderful in-laws going home to Spain on Saturday. Mom is still here. But the house is quieter and I'm back sleeping in my own room. Cards are still arriving in the mail, but the flowers are slowly wilting and ready to make their way to the trash bins. I have Bill's pictures from the service all over the dining room, but it looks beautiful. I'll keep it that way for now. One is a poster I had made of he and our Mrs. Dickens. It was at the front of the church for the service. He looks so happy! They're swimming in the pool. I just love it.

I'm fortunate to have a wonderful woman in my life. She lost her husband to a long illness when he was just in his 50s too. She's in her 70s now and lives a very active and fruitful life. I'd like to be like her when I grow up. She was crazy about Bill and prayed for his healing everyday.

I told her I was still struggling at the "realness" of it all. (I keep thinking he's on some extended trip and will be coming home.) I don't know if anyone else will find comfort in these words, but I did. She wrote me:

"That "awareness" comes at different times and different ways but it happens - sometimes over quite a length of time. Bill being gone is a fact but you will constantly "share" with him and laugh with him and so on. It is really NOT over!"

It was the "It is really NOT over!" bit that got me. I'm still married, I'm still madly in love, I'm still connected. I'm still waiting to see him again.

Teri, I am still married almost 3 years later. The edge is definitely off the grief and my heart is open for other opportunities. BUT.... when you have had a marriage of totalness, not obsessiveness, but the total sharing of a life and love and friendship, that will always be there in your heart. I still talk to Earl.