Hello

rebell86

Hi there, and welcome!

I have no experience with hair loss, personally (I was treated with surgery only) but I wanted to welcome you.  I know others with experience will be along shortly.  

If you're comfortable sharing a bit more about your diagnosis and treatments, people can share the most relevant info.

Glad you found us!

Your willingness to chat with us is so appreciated.  ONLY is not a word when you deal with cancer.  Cancer is cancer...............frightening

I wasn't denigrating the seriousness of surgery, just explaining that I didn't have any treatment beyond surgery--which doesn't make you lose your hair.  Some people have surgery and then chemo or other drug therapy.  I did not--I only had surgery.  As in, nothing else.

Hi Rebell86. Welcome here! Like LexieCat, I had surgery only for my lung cancer.  However, I had a prior non-lung cancer for which I did have chemo and hair loss.   My thoughts at the time were  that this chemo was what I needed to do to live and that hair wasn't really that important. I was 66 at that time and maybe if I'd been younger, I'd have looked at it differently.

Prior to my chemo, I went with a friend to a wig shop. I wasn't willing to spend much money and I have a large head, so I didn't have a lot of choices.  My friend and I had a grand time at the wig shop and I bought a cheap, synthetic wig. I then found a local cancer center that styled it free, which improved it.  I only wore it about 3 times. It felt like a costume. Or something.

When my hair started falling out I got a short buzz cut. I started wearing hats and scarves including a hat to sleep in since my bald head got cold. I got a couple of hats and scarves  from the same place that styled my wig. They had some for sale and in another  place, their "library" ,some for free. I kept looking for interesting and not too expensive headgear. This was my 'treat" I felt more comfortable in them than in the wig.