Disappointing news today ...need some positive feedback :)

TMC

Ok, I'll start off I'm not good at writing or this forum stuff.  I'll try not to ramble.  We had our follow up appointment with our - Csurgeon today and had a "set back" but I'm not gonna say bad news, just a set back.  But we were disappointed.  I think I'll try to list our test chronologically first then get to the meat of this post..

Feb 11 X-ray due to long term cough (9-12 months)

Feb 12 - Dr called - large mass on xray

Feb 14 - CT Scan - dr said most likely lung cancer - referred to Pulmonologist

Feb 18 - Met with Pulm. dr

Feb 21 - Bronchoscopy

Feb 24 - PET CT Scan

March 3 - Mediastinoscopy

March 5 - Lung X-ray and VQ Scan

March 6 - Brain MRI

March 9- Met Medical Oncologist

March 10 - Medical Oncologist presented my husbands case to the Tumor Board

March 12 - another CT scan with dye to look at a certain area they were concerned with then met with surgeon afterwards

Ok so quick recap---He's 2b- everything has come back clear as far as spread of cancer.. other than the nodes in the lung that they can't actually verify are cancer free unless surgery is done. Other than that no cancer is seen anywhere other than a very large mass that takes up most of his upper right lung.  Everything looked good for surgery except for one thing ...the location of the tumor and not being able to see a certain part.

So now I'll break it down to how we understand it... the tumor is pushing up against the Superior vena cava to the heart.  The mass is large and they cannot get a "clear" picture to ascertain if the tumor is just "pushing" against the SVC or if it's attached.  They said we only have ONE chance at surgery and if it is actually "attached" then surgery is definitely out of the question.  So they have to be absolutely certain it's not attached.