Tagrisso - One year in but looks like my cancer has begun resistance

Kamoto

My main tumor in the right lung has shrunk 80% but is no longer shrinking.  In fact, it has widened by .03 Cm.  I also have something growing in the left lung.  3.2 by 3.7 Cm now.  Rest of the chest area is still clean.  Appt with oncologist on Monday, but looks like Tagrisso is barely holding off the inevitable advance.  Oh well, maybe a new drug, but I like the zero side effects with Tagrisso. I’ll advise what oncologist plan is

Kamoto,

Others with more experience will likely respond soon but I'm sorry to hear that Tagrisso is not doing the job it did before.  My LC treatment was purely surgical so I have no experience too share regarding any form of chemo, but I have read of other drugs that were used in such cases and I'm sure your oncologist will make the right recommendations for you.  Please keep us updated and I look forward to hearing that you have an alternative treatment and good results to go with it.

Lou

Kamoto,

Stupid cancer. You are really being slammed. There's a lot of work being done on post treatment after Tagrisso resistance. I am hoping they can get in and get some tissue on those stupid new growths-- maybe there's a new mutation? Only a biopsy can tell, and it's pretty important that you get another one.  If you want, I can dig around some of my notes about some of the post-Tagrisso work being done. 

Karen

Thanks Lou.  Hi Karen.  Sure let me know what you can dig up.  I meet with oncologist on Monday to see what his plan is.  Kindly 

Kamoto,

I wish I had words of wisdom for your tumor growth. As you've suggested, sometimes Targeted Therapies lose their target. I do hope your oncologist has another remedy teed up for you. I hear Boseman is avoiding our collective heat bubble meltdown. Stay cool and...

Stay the course.

Tom

Kamoto