Husband with Stage IV NSCLC

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 8:03 pm Post subject: Husband with Stage IV NSCLC

I am new to all of this and don't have much to information for you. My husband is healthy with no symptoms of the cancer. If not for a softball

injury, we still would not know he had it. We were diagnosed in Jan. 2005 with NSCLC Stage I. Attempted surgery on Feb. 16, 2005. Could not operate. Met. on Chest Wall. Now NSCLC Stage IV. Our wonderful surgeon came out to a waiting room full of people to break the news to me, my nine year old son, three year old daughter, his Mom and Dad and our two closest friends. He told the entire waiting room that we were looking at six months to a year. Talk about scared to death. Then there were our children full of questions. We went saw one onc., who we were not pleased with at all. We switched to a new one that has been wonderful. He thinks that considering my husbands age

(33) and good health, remission could be a possibility for us. We are praying. He was a nonsmoker and they are not sure where this came from. We started Chemo on March 18th (right after my husbands 33rd birthday). The treatment we are using is Carboplatin and Taxotere. He is taking the Chemo pretty well, aside from the metal taste.

Kim Miller (32)

Husband Mike (33)

Jan 2005 Diag. NSCLC Stage I

Feb. 2005 Diag. NSCLC Stage IV Inoperable Met. to chest wall

March 2005 Chemo Carboplatin/Taxotere (Every three weeks)

wow, sooo young! :(

I'm so sorry you're having to go through this.

This is a wonderful place with lots of information, encouragement and HOPE!!! Never loose your hope.

My mom is a five year survivor because of prayer, faith, hope, and good doctors.

you and your family will be in my prayers from now on.

((hugs))

Christy