Sister has Stage IV NSCLC

Hi everyone. I'm new to this. My 38 year old sister was just diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. We just discovered that she has blood clots all in her chest and arms. I can't seem to get any answers from her doctor because she doesn't want to know anything about it so therefore the doctor won't tell me anything. Are blood clots in the chest pretty common with lung cancer? Does this mean that the cancer has spread? She had a brain scan and it came back neg. I think they are going to do a bone scan soon but she's too weak right now. Any answers will be so appreciated. My prayers are with all of you and your families.

I'm sorry to hear about your sister. I glad you found us.

Stage IV indicates spread. Blood clots are VERY COMMON with lung cancer.

I'm sorry she doesn't want to know things, because people can and have lived very full and normal lifes with lung cancer diagnosis. I was stage IIIB and I'm still here 10+ years later and doing just FINE!

Please talk to you sister and tell her she needs to fight this, because it CAN BE BEAT!

You'll find a lot of helpful information and support here at LCSC. I hope you'll stay with us.

I'm so sorry to hear that your sister has been diagnosed with lung cancer. Welcome to this forum, it is a wonderful resource for information, support, love and encouragement. I can understand that your sister is not wanting to hear all the details of the disease at this time and I really don't think it's as necessary right now for her to know all the in's and out's as it is to get started with a treatment plan. Once that's in place, she might be a little less overwhelmed and ready for more information. In the meantime you can get the information that you need by continuing to come here.

God Bless,

Lynda