Large Cell Ceuroendocrine

Greg Drevs

Hi All. I am a newbie, I was just diagnosed with large cell neuroendocrine lung cancer (LCNE) seven weeks ago. They removed the lung lobe that contained the stage 1B 4 cm tumor. They also took 13 lymph nodes which came back as negative. Problem is they tell me that large cell neuroendocrine is a very agressive and deadly cell type so they are recomending adjunct chemo therapy. I have tried to research LCNE on the Internet but there isn't much out there published on it since it was only identified in the late 90's and added to the World Health Organization list in 2004. If anyone in the Lungevity support group has LCNE, or has any knowledge about this cell type I would appreciate your feedback.

Welcome to the site. My MIL was also diagnosed as having large cell. That was the first I had heard of it. I also went on the net searching. She is doing quite well--she had radiation only due to her age. You are very lucky your cancer was found early. I wish you well-- what is the chemo they want to use?

Rochelle

Try the Following Links!

General Info:

http://jtcs.ctsnetjournals.org/cgi/cont ... /130/1/166

Clinical trials by state. This may help I do not know which State you are in though??

http://www.centerwatch.com/patient/studies/cat34.html

$ trials which are currently recruiting.

http://www.clinicaltrials.gov/ct/search ... mit=Search

These are experimental treatments with Chemo drugs that have been used before. The combos may be different though.

Try this Link for more info May find something here. ASCO is highly respected and most oncologists ae members I believe;

http://www.asco.org/portal/site/ASCO/me ... ractID=978

That should help for now I think. this is a ton of info tocomb through aand I have done some combing already.

Knowledge is power, and the more you know the better the questions to ask Drs. Sending prayers and keep us posted.