new, but not really

donnalee

This is my first time to post although I've been coming here to read for over a year. My husband was diagnosed with SCLC in November of 05 and has had his share of complication, but all in all is doing O.K. I guess the one year anniversary of his diagnosis, while a good thing, also tends to cause anxiety since the median survival is less than two years. I understand that these are statistics and that there are people who beat the odds, but with brain mets and adrenal mets I fear he won't be one of them.

I'm hoping by joining in on the discussion that I can learn to cope better.

Welcome, Donna, I'm so glad to hear that your husband is doing well, and that you have decided to post. The support here is tremendous and it will lift you up when you need it. A year is a long time and there are many reasons to believe that your husband will be around for a lot longer, just read the stories of survivors here on this board.

I can relate to your fear about the one year mark because although I have not gotten there yet, the longer I do okay, the more I worry that my time is running out. I have to constantly remind myself to just enjoy the fact that I am doing okay and not worry about happens if that should change.

Take care.

Tracy

Hi, Donna, and welcome! Glad you decided to post. Let us know how we may support you as we go along, and keep us posted on your hubby and yourself. My wife was given 9 months so every month after that we considered a bonus. She lived 4 years, and they were good years. I wish your husband has many more years to come. Don

Hello Donna,