Newbie to this board, glad to find you!

Farmor's Son

hi..

I'm a newbie to this board, but am a member of several other boards for hobbies.

So this is certainly my first of many posts!

I was looking for "this board", and glad I found it. I know it can be very helpful for the road that we are just beginning.

My mom is 73, and just got an intial "diagnosis" of lung cancer, and a guesstimate that's it's type 3 to 4...., the answers are still to come, it's happening very quickly.

First appt. with the oncologist is next Tues the 12th.

As you can imagine a lot has happened in the last few weeks leading up to this. A lot of tears and sadness, but mom's got a great support group of friends and family, my dad's in great health, we all live close by each other, and we live in Seattle where we have quite a few options.

We are hoping for the best, and I'm looking forward to "talking" with you!

regards

Well, Eric, those of us here know exactly where you are at this time and the feelings you're experiencing. As you read through the posts here, you will find that there is much hope and that LC can be treated successfully. Hopefully mom will get all the necessary tests and scans and get a plan in place soon. Then you'll find things start to fall into place for you. Good luck.

Kasey

Hi, Eric, welcome to the group!

You found the absolute best place on the Web for lung cancer support -- first-hand accounts by patients and family members about specific conditions and treatments, lots of helpful hints, and plenty of perspective. For more detailed medical information, we highly recommend onctalk.com, which is constantly updated by Dr. West of the Swedish Cancer Institute in Seattle. I just finished telling new member Renate about OncTalk, and you can read that here:

http://lchelp.org/l_community/viewtopic ... highlight=