Introduction

Richard Perry

This is my first time here. I'm not sure where to go to start. I have a very positive story that I'd like to share.

I was diagnosed with nsclc in September 2003 in stage IIIA. I had chemo and radiation, and a lobectomy in December 2003, then more chemo. I had a mestasasis in an adrenal gland in August 2004, treated by more chemo. In December that tumor had not responded and I was started on Tarceva. Two months later the adrenal tumor was 'dying.' I stayed on Tarceva for almost 3 years with some side effects. My adrenal tumor was removed in June 2005.

I have had regular PET/CT and CT scans as well as bloodtests and exams. As of my last appointment, yesterday, I have had no recurrence and I'm in good health. It's been 5 years and 3!/2 months since my diagnosis.

I hope my story will give some hope. Please let me know where to go.

Kudos to you Richard!! Thats an awesome story to hear. So how did you find us? Glad to meet you and you willl hear from many more soon. Being the holidays things are kinda quiet but we are here!

Welcome Richard, and CONGRATULATIONS on 5+ years!! :D:D Love to hear these hopful stories. I too am a LC Survivor (Stage IIIA-B) it's 13+ years for me. I won't bore you with details but you can read my story by clicking on the link below this message.

I hope you'll stay with us and offer hope to those starting and those fighting this monster and let us get to know you. This is a great group of people.

Hi folks,

Thanks for the responses. What a nice group. I would like to stay in touch. I am 62, retired with 3 grown kids and 3 perfect grandkids 4,2,2.

I found out about LUNGevity in an article in the Washington Post this morning. It was front page I think (I read it online). Its theme was the stigma put on LC people because so many of us have been smokers and therefore are considered to have brought the disease on ourselves. The article mentioned a few other groupls where input is encouraged.