Looking for Hope

SheriB

Hello!  My dad was just diagnosed on Friday with Stage IV adenocarcinoma of the lung.  He had a very early stage adenocarcinoma lesion removed a year ago so this is quite a shock.  A recent PET scan shows metastasis to the bone in approximately 3 places (hip, rib, neck) but those lesions are small at 1 cm or less.  He is having an MRI today to see if it has spread to his brain and will have his port surgery on Friday.  I am also following up about genetic testing today.  He was a smoker so the chance of a genetic mutation is likely low.

I am a scientist so I am my dad’s (and my family’s) advocate and spend a lot of my time digging through the literature looking for the latest and greatest treatments and clinical trials.  I know historically this diagnosis has been associated with a poor prognosis, but from what I can see, it thankfully seems to have changed with survival rates on the rise.

I was wondering if anyone has had a similar diagnosis and what your experience was or any words of advice for us as we embark on this journey?

Thank you so much for your help and support.

Sheri

Sheri

You have come to the right place. Board is a bit quiet right now but you should get  numerous responses. Many on this board have been exactly in this spot.

Unfortunately I cannot help much as I have Large Cell, but your in my thoughts. This board has been a God send for me. Hopefully it will help you as well.

Peace

Tom

SheriB,

Welcome here and yes, bottom line up front, many here have encountered and survived Stage IV diagnosis. 

A port is the right call. Was your dad’s removed tumor subjected to laboratory testing for targeted therapy or immunotherapy? These treatments are making a difference, especially for adenocarcinoma.