Supplements to avoid while on chemo?

GramaA

Good day! First, I’m not a doctor nor do I claim to know the following to be true. I just want to ask a question and see if anyone has any clear answers. ❤️

I’ve read, while on chemo, one should not drink Green Tea or take Fish Oil; that it could interfere with chemo. Does anyone know if these are true facts? Also, does anyone know of a reliable site that lists medications/vitamins/supplements, etc. that shouldn’t be taken while on chemo? I do plan on asking my infusion doctor, but I wanted a head start.

Thanks all!!

A~

I was told to stop Fish Oil and Vitamin C (other than what's in a multivitamin). Also, studies have shown beta carotene supplements can risk lung cancer growth. Green tea is something nobody has ever mentioned to me--I drink it all the time. 

My oncologist goes over ALL my meds and supplements every visit. I never start taking anything new without letting them know. There's no reason you should have to research any of this stuff yourself. Your local pharmacist should also be a reliable source for any concerns about interactions. 

OK, before you "guess" what may or may not interfere with chemotherapy, you need to have a very in depth discussion with your Oncologist about that. It seems to me they should have already done that with you. There are definitely things that you cannot have while on chemotherapy and you need to know what those things are...with no guesswork involved. And those things that may interfere with chemotherapy are different depending on chemotherapy regimen, person, etc. For that reason you will most likely not find anything online about drug interactions...and even if you did, I wouldn't trust that anyway. Chemotherapy is serious stuff and that means no guessing and no playing; you could do yourself a lot of serious harm if you are wrong...