Newcomer

Guest BJ

Hello,

I'm BJ, I'm 47 (I was 46 when I was diagosed) and I am new to this. I was diagosed on 8/03 with sclc. I went to the doctor for a physical because I was concerned about my blood pressure. To make a long story short he did a chest x-ray because I was a smoker and a tumor was found (7cm) and a lymph node in my chest was enlarged. I did not have any symptoms. I started chemo the first friday in Sept. 2004. I have completed the six months of chemo which consisted of chemptostar and cisplatin. The tumor is gone. I have had a bone scan and a brain scan, both were negative. I also had a PET scan done to verify the tumor was gone. The last time I talked to my Doctor was on 3/19/04 when he told be the results of the PET scan. He told me he wanted to see me in 4 weeks. I'm taking a well deserved vacation so he will see me in 5 weeks. I just want to know what to expect next? Since my brain scan was negative should I still get the brain radiation? Are there certain questions I should be asking my doctor? Any reply to my email will be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the family BJ. It sounds like you are doing great! I am not experienced enough with sclc to answer your questions. (My Dad has nsclc) There are many survivors here with sclc though. I am sure they will jump in soon to welcome you. There is a sclc message board. Check it out. There is some good info there. Again, welcome!!! Glad you found this group of wonderful caring people. If you stick around, you will grow to love them just as I have! :D

Angie

Hello,

Wlecome to the family. You seem to have done well with your treatments. Please do a search on this site for PCI (Prophylactic Cranial Irradiation ) and WBR (whole brain radiation). These topics have been discussed extensively on this site and you might learn something that might help you with your decision. Meanwhile enjoy your well-deserved vacation!

Theresa