Proper Introduction

Deb514

Want to say hello to everyone. I have read everyone's  posts. My name is Debbie and I was diagnosed with sclc mid March. My story starts in January when I was admitted to the hospital for a critical sodium level. I had labs in December and it  was normal. I then begged for a chest CT as well as a brain scan.  I am a ICU nurse at that same hospital.  I was in SIADH which causes you to deplete your sodium. My tumor was making ADH which caused me to urinate  more frequently and loose my sodium. I stayed in the hospital  3 days and was released on sodium pills and 1000 cc fluid restriction.  I made appointments  with  my PCP, my hematologist (was seeing for iron deficiency) and my Pulmonologist who I saw once a year for mild COPD. None of them  saw any need to do a Chest CT. In December  they found  a small nodule in my R lower lung thought  to be infection or inflammation. In December I had a stomach virus and they thought  I  aspirated  while vomiting.  I had to fire my PCP and found another one who did MRI of brain and CT chest.  My tumor  on CT March 7th was 7.5 x 5 cm.  I couldn't  see the Pulmonologist  until the 15. I was extremely  sick and O2 sats would fall to low 80s. On March 12 I went  to the emergency room and paged our hospital  Pulmonologist.  She immediately  came to me in the ER waiting  room. I had bronchscopy on March 13, saw oncology  plus had bone scan and abdominal  pelvic ultrasound and a port placed on 14th and chemo cisplatin and VP 16 on 15th to 17th. I certainly  had the right person  on my side and I so wish I had called her in January.  She took such good care of me. It is limited to right lung.  I am  having 3rd chemo today and have had 15 radiation treatments with  20 more to go. I am pleased to have found this site. 

Hi Deb,