How do you find the balance?

Suzanna

Hello all,

As you know, I'm completely new to this and haven't yet had a chance to participate in a Zoom meetup or other group discussion. Adam's first treatment was two weeks ago today, so in one week we go back for the next. The side effects have not hit him as hard as we expected, with the exception of fatigue. I recall early on in this journey that it was advised to try to continue hiking, though maybe smaller hikes (we usually put in 8-10 miles), and that remaining active would help him feel better. That thought just baffles me now as I cannot even imagine getting him to take a 30 minute walk. We're shooting for a 15 minute walk occasionally at this point. He is still working when he can, so between that and the fatigue, exercise seems like an impossibility. I struggle with finding the balance of letting him sleep because I know he needs it, to feeling responsible for getting him up and moving around. I realize it's likely that I'm overthinking this. Thanks for any advice you can give.

Suzanna,

It should be a question you can ask his doctor who is aware of the side effects and the intensity of how they are affecting Adam.  You may find that once Adam is up and moving he can do more than you thought possible.  Of course if he becomes very tired he should rest and recover, but after my surgery the first time I walked around my house I had to go lay down.  Five weeks later I was getting close to my five miles/day I was doing pre-surgery.  Your husband's case is different in terms of the treatment but in each case he and I had to push through fatigue while we rebuild our stamina.  Start slow, keep building up, rest when needed.  Good luck to you.

Lou