twodogs

I'm also a Newbie to the site. I actually just found it this morning. I've been avoiding this subject on the net because a lot of the sites I visited earlier on were depressing or displayed a lot of anger. I had enough of those emotions of my own and didn't need to fuel or feed on that of others.

I'm 64, married 40 years, was a smoker for nearly 50 years, retired, three daughters, one son, six grandkids, (one more due tomorrow perhaps).

It'll be a year from June 26 for me. I'd been experiencing strange aches and pains on and off for about a year and a half. Just prior to my DX I was hacking and coughing, (thought it was alergies), and having neck/back/ shoulder pains. I'd been taking Aleve for the pain and had developed severe swelling of the neck and face and finally went to an ER. Thank God for the doc on duty. He diagnosed me as having a tumor and SVC Syndrome. Biopsy came back as SCLC with the lymph nodes exposed and, of course, the tumor.

The tumor was, ironically, about the size of a cigarette pack and located between the Adam's Apple and the breast plate, just about exactly where there was no possible way to get at it surgically.

In any event I was in an ER mode and my radiation treatments began the very next morning. On and off the radiation and chemo treatments ran from June 26th to December 20th.

So far things are going well with my CT's clean, except for scarring, and my appetite and taste both coming back. I'm starting to eat regularly if not heavily and enjoying a healthy and delicious cocktail now and then.

From what I've seen so far this looks like a pretty good group. I hope we can share and help each other through what ever it is we have to face.

Welcome to the group, glad you found us. Stay off those other sites, just settle in here. What is SVC syndrome? Curious if it is vena cava syndrome. My husband was also diagnosed due to that.

Rochelle

Ry,