It's been a long 11 days since my Chemo Treatment

ursol

To All,

I'm new at this and feel like I'm not as strong as so many of you are. I started my adjuvant chemo on Tuesday, November 14th. Paclitaxol and Carboplatin. Got through that okay. Felt fine on Wednesday. Woke up Thursday and lost my taste buds. Was taking Anzemet for nausia but as of late afternoon began my vomiting. No liquids, no food, no medicines, by Friday morning I was beat and dehydrated. Called my oncology clinic and off I went for IV fluids and Nausea meds. I also had developed terrible pain in my stomach and was given morphine. By end of friday, I was sent home as they thought the vomiting was under control. I vomited again in the car ride home. And it continued throughout the night into the next day. Saturday I went to the ER per my Dr. I was admitted and had a Chest X-ray revealing slight liquid in lungs. Dr. not concerned. Had a CT Scan that revealed an enlarged bladder therefore a catheter was ordered for about 1 day. Was sent for an Endoscopy to insure I did not have a stomach ulcer or other related stomach issue. That was negative. By now it is Tuesday, 7 days since Chemo and I'm feeling better and my oncologist tells me that they noticed something they may be concerned about on my CT scan. My Adrenal gland seems enlarged and having compared to previous scans, they feel a new PET scan is the best course of action. I am scheduled to go for the PET Scan this coming Tuesday night. He went on to talk about worst case scenario's etc. (all lost to me as I just was astounded at what I was hearing). He said I could go home since it appears I had finally stopped vomiting 10lbs lighter later.