Introduction

Pamela Dee

I am a 59-year-old resident of the Metro DC area. I was diagnosed with stage 3 NSCLC ALK+ adenocarcinoma in February 2013, which after three years metastasized to my brain. I've had chemo and radiation for the lung cancer and surgery and two rounds of radiation for the brain cancer. Through it all, I have remained generally healthy, active, and in good spirits. I have a full-time job and try to stay active with several community organizations. I love to travel, sometimes just to see new places, and sometimes for ski and bike trips. I have supportive friends and family but have gone through much of my cancer ordeal on my own because most of those people don't live close by or they also work for a living. This has generally worked out fine for me. Ironically, the longer I deal with it all, however, the more I feel like I need more support than I did when I started out. I especially would like to be able to share with and support others who are going through the types of challenges I'm dealing with--something I've found is often difficult for people who haven't had cancer to understand. I'm looking forward to being part of this group.

Welcome Pamela.  Thank you for sharing your story.  What a great attitude and perspective.  You’ve found the right place for both support and being supportive.  

Hi Pamela-

I’m an ALKie too.  I was diagnosed Stage IV last September at the age of 51.  I had some spinal lesions & hot spots on my rib & hip.  So far I’m doing well on Alectinib.  

My doctor’s advised me to file for disability & focus completely on healing my body.  I left a high profile executive position.  Each day I look at as an adventure.   

There is an ALK Facebook Page (I don’t do FB) that you might find helpful as well.  You may want to look at ALKpostive.org.   

This is a wonderful community- everybody here gets it!  Looking forward to learning more about your journey.  Your post is my inspiration for today.  

Welcome! 

Michelle