An update on Paddy and David

K and Kids

This is a second hand report based on my coversation with Mom yesterday early morning.

Dad is still very weak and needing a great deal of physical help. Mom says as long as they don't have to make a Dr's appointment and get out of the house she is able to handle this. It just take Dad forever to do something because he has to stop and rest inbetween even the simplest tasks. This has got to be so hard to watch.

At Dad's appointment earlier this week the Oncologist wanted to do another Thorocentisis(sp?) ASAP. He called to schedule it for that day or the next and found that the doctor doing the procedure is totally booked up and won't be able to do it until Thursday next week. I understand that I am not a medical professional but this does not seem right to me. Mom says that Dad is waking up at night and sitting on the side of the bed trying to catch his breath. She said she may have to call and tell them to figure out a way to get this done. The doctor also ordered oxygen for home and it was to be set up yesterday. From what I gather the main unit is placed in a central location in the house and then Dad can move around as he needs to from room to room. I hope this helps.

Dad is now taking an appetite stimulant so hopefully he will find it easier to eat. This has been a big problem and I am sure it contributes to the weakness. There is just too much going on for the poor guy and he is being a real trooper. Mom appologized for being a baby and venting about the situation and I told her that she had every right to vent and she was NOT in anyway being a baby. This is what it is and they are both handling it the best way they know how. I am so proud of them and so sad that they have to be dealing with this horrible situation.

Thanks for your continued prayers. We sure feel them.

Hi Karen,

Thank you so much for your post. I sent you a PM last night because I didn't want to bother Paddy knowing she is so busy.