Introduction - Isabelle49

Isabelle49

I’m Isabelle 49. New here. Had a screening CT a week ago and found large mass in right middle lobe and one nodule in left lower lobe. Been a smoker for over 50 years. Traveling overseas at the end of the week and will wait to have biopsies done until we return. 

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Isabelle. Welcome to the group. Like you, I I'm just beginning my journey with LC and I can tell you that you'll find super support, knowledge and experience here from a great group of folks.

I'll keep an eye out for your results and my prayers are with you. 

Lou

Thanks all, Lou T prayers most welcome. Wondering if anyone here chose to keep this information very private, not shared with children. One of my daughters has been through so much in her life, Katrina took her home, multiple near death accidents. This has been a time of joy, as her daughter is getting married in November. I don’t want this health information out there, because I know she will be devastated. I know my older daughter will be hurt by this also. This is the hard part, not having anyone to talk to, except God. Thanks

I have two daughters as well and I wondered about telling them about my situation, but my wife told me that they'd be pretty angry to have to hear about it later so I did share with them. In my case, while it was a shock to them, they're very supportive and I find that very comforting. Each family is different, so you need to decide for yours, but their strength may surprised you. 

Lou

Hi Isabelle-

When I was diagnosed, a  nurse strongly recommended sharing my diagnosis with people as soon as possible as there will never be a “good time”to share this news.  

Yes my friends and family were totally devastated by the surprise diagnosis however we’re adapting to the new normal.  We received support from the least expected places.