newcomer in need of support from those who understand

jlynn2jo

Hi. I'm new to using these types of support so any feedback is welcome. I'm 48 years old and have been fighting nslc for 5 years now. Shortly before my 43rd bday, masses were detected on an ex-ray. I had a double lobectomy, followed by 6 wks., of chemo. For 2 years all seemed well, then it returned in lymphnodes in my neck, and again 2 more years later. This time it was only 1 year. The last 2 times I had radiation with chemo, this time just chemo.I've had 12 treatments so far, then a week break as had a touch of pnemonia. This week, Weds., will be my #13, and have 4 more after for sure. Also scheduled for my 2nd CT to see how treatments are going. This will be my second since started and the 1st showed that treatments were working. It has really been a long scarey 5 years, and yet at times I do know I'm blessed for having made it this long. It's just that after this much it's very hard not to question my faith, my doctors, and yet I will never give up the fight. Mainly what I'm looking for now is other people who are also fighting this horrible cancer. Sincerely, jlynn

A very warm welcome to you jlynn. You are at the right place if you are looking for folks who are fighting this disease like crazy. You have had quite a time of it these past 5 years, and I want to congratulate you on fighting and surviving.

Perhaps by filling in a Profile - what you find under all our names - we may be able to help you better and support you as well.

Glad to 'meet' you.

Kasey

Several here have started their battle with this beast at very young ages. Welcome. I hope you have friends and family also that are there for you during this fight.

Many of us here know what the battle is like first hand. Hope we can help. Donna G

Jlynn,