Giving up contol; making decisions

Question 1: I am with my Dad right now and can stay throughout the summer since I am a teacher. He has deteriorated a lot in the last couple of months. He has lost much weight and is weak and unsteady on his feet. Dad sleeps a good part of the day away. It's evident that he can't take care of his bills anymore and other such personal business. When my sister and I have gently mentioned that we'll take care of bill paying and having someone else take care of some personal matters (we just don't have the expertise to deal with some of it), he brushes us off. I hate, absolutely hate, having to suggest we take over bill paying... but with second notices arriving and his confusion as to whether things have paid, we have to. Dad is a proud man and has remained independent throughout the almost 6 years of dealing with cancer. I know this is tough for him. How do we get him to turn over his "affairs" without crushing him?

Question 2: Although Dad can still do "personal care", he cannot cook (though he barely eats), can no longer drive himself to doctor's appts., can't get down the steps to do his laundry, can't shop... I've got this all covered right now but when I need to leave, something has to be done. My sister lives close by but she works full-time and can't meet all of these needs either. I'd like to get a social worker to come in to tell us what's available to help him but I don't know how to bring this up to Dad. It would be like telling him that I'm abandoning him and "the end is near."