Just diagnosed with SCLC

Wattle21

My mother-in-law was hospitalized approx 3 wks ago for a stroke. While in the hospital, they found a "spot" on her lung they thought might be cancer. A biopsy was done, it came back small cell lung cancer. We seen the oncologist, who ran all kinds of tests (PET scan, CT, MRI). Everything came back negative, so her cancer was the limited stage of small cell cancer. She starts chemotherapy next week, with radiation to follow in a few weeks. I hope somebody has some survival stories for me. I am a nurse, but from everything I have read, it is telling me her average survival time is less than 2 years. I'm hoping for the best. Thanks.

Welcome, Wattle21. For many people with SCLC, the outlook isn't nearly as grim as you described! :D Take a look at the postings on the "My Story" and "SCLC" message boards and I think you'll find some that are very optimistic.

Please let us know how your mother-in-laws treatments are and how she is feeling. Best wishes to both of you.

Muriel

Hello and welcome to the board

I am sorry about your mother in law's diagnosis but glad you have joined us.

I cannot offer much as far as information or advice but would like to say, please do NOT listen to the statistics and prognosis you will find and hear. Those stats are numbers, averages and your mother in law is a unique person. Everyone responds to treatment differently as you will see as you read more of the stories and history on this site. There are so many postive stories and so much hope to be found here among this group.

Please let us know how we can help you and we will be here for you.

Warmly

Christine

My Mom is going into her 20th month since being DX. You can read her profile below. There are many more survivors on this site and many more that we have met @ the hospital where my Mom gets treatment.

PM me if you need to.

Dar