I don’t know how to talk to her. What to say? Will anything really help?

MSDHS

Hi-

This is my first time reaching out to a support group, so I don’t exactly know how much information is needed by way of explanation is needed, but here goes.

I live with my daughter in-law, son and 3 grandchildren (boys 10-13). My daughter in-law has been dealing with cancer for the last 3+ years. At first she was diagnosed with what was believed to be stage 4 breast cancer (Cancer was detected in her breast and small met in her lung.). She went through all of the therapies suggested:

Biopsy, Extensive Chemo, Radiation and surgery  After about a year she had completed all  the necessary  therapy and her next two scans, one PET and one CAT were clear  The next scan showed the lung nodule had returned. It had not been biopsied previously due to a reportedly very difficult location but was assumed to be a metastasis from the initial breast cancer. Her doctors felt very confident that the Chemo etc. would deal with that as well as it seemed to have until it showed up again in her lung.  She insisted on a lung biopsy although Her doctors wanted to begin a 2nd regime for it being a form of the breast cancer  She insisted on an extensive lung surgery to obtain an actual biopsy  The surgery resulted in that mass being diagnosed as a specific lung cancer , which is mutation related, and not of a type of breast cancer in origin  A lobe of her lung was removed and more specific  Chemo and Radiation were administered.  Two more clear scans (all three months apart), and now she is diagnosed with stage 4 Lung Cancer..

She is an amazing woman; very intelligent, extremely well read, knowledgeable, kind and patient.  I just do not know how to talk to her! What to say to say to be encouraging when it all seems so hopeless. All she wanted was to see her boys grow up.  I am sorry for being so long winded with my information, but did not know how much was necessary to be informative.