Recurrence

Golfman

As background, I was diagnosed with Stage 4 SCLC in Feb 2019. Really, a death sentence. They immediately began chemo and included the newly approved (as of January)  immunotherapy drug Tecentriq. Several (3?) rounds of chemo later, I was doing pretty well. Had two pretty nice years. Of course, I had the typical side affects, but really enjoyed myself. Recent scans have shown that this disease has now spread to other locations (i.e. liver and maybe brain, pending a brain scan). On the positive side, I've enjoyed the last 2 years. Probably would not have had them had those smart researchers (Dr Allison) not invented Tecentriq. I'll soon begin new chemo treatment featuring Lurbinectedin. Has anyone had experience with this treatment?

Sorry to hear that the cancer come back. I hope you will have the desire and strength to beat it again. Sorry I have no experience with Lurbinectedin and from my readings on the web it was just approved in the US on June 2020. I hope one of our members will come forward and share their experience. I wish you the best.

I'm sorry to hear about this recurrence,  I've always admired your strength and determination as you forged forward.  I'm sure your resolve will serve you well in the next round of treatment.  Keep us posted.  

Golfman, may I ask why your Docs aren't considering the same chemo/immunotherapy again?  I have read that patients with 6 months or longer disease free progression, 1st line treatment may be repeated.

Sorry, I am not familiar with Lurbinectedin but it is for when a platinum based chemo has failed.

A synthetic tetrahydropyrrolo [4, 3, 2-de]quinolin-8(1H)-one alkaloid analogue with potential antineoplastic activity. Lurbinectedin covalently binds to residues lying in the minor groove of DNA, which may result in delayed progression through S phase, cell cycle arrest in the G2/M phase and cell death.