New: my beautiful mom was just diagnosed w/ advanced NSCLC

Nenette

Hello,

This is my first time posting to this site and although this is a much dreaded site I can't help but be hopeful because of all the support and information that appears to be flowing back and forth.

Recently, my family found out my mom has advanced non small cell adenocarcinoma w/ a mets to a lymph node and possibly the liver. This week she will be completing her PET, liver ultra sound, and MRI tests to see EVERYTHING that is going on in her body.

We were shocked about this because she has had a persistant cough and chest pain for 1+ year now and went to her GP about it. He said it was only her blood pressure medication that was causing her to cough and denied her request for a chest x-ray and instead told her to take tylenol. 6 months later she complained about a pain in her breast and he palpitated it and offered her more Tylenol. When she finally started to cough up blood yet 6 months later that is when he finally agreed to a chest x-ray and that is when they found the masses in her left lung w/ mets to a lymph node and 2 suspicious lesions in her liver.

Next week we will find out if it is Stage III or IV-the oncologist said that if the lesions on the liver are cancer then it is most likely Stage IV and that she would be considered "uncurable." -Is this true??? The oncologist also said that at Stage III they could do chemo/radiation combo to shrink the tumor and have her then be eligible for surgery (and be cured), but if it's stage IV they could only do chemo to extend her life as long as possible but she would still live w/ the cancer inside of her.

Since we discovered the masses I've been doing everything I can to research as much as possible about advanced NSC lung cancer. Does anybody know of any successful treatments for Stage IV (I am prepared for it to be Stage IV) that they can share w/ me?