Judi L

Judi L

Hi!
My name is Judi and I’m new to this so please forgive me for not knowing what to say. I’m not even sure this is where I’m supposed to introduce myself. 🤔

I’m 73 and live in Ocean County NJ with my husband of 50 years. I was diagnosed with  Squamous NSCLC in October 2017 and, needless to say, life as I knew it changed overnight. Being an optimist, my mindset was (and is) that someone survives this so why not me. I’m fortunate to have an amazing medical care team and personal support system but realize that I need a connection with others who are also living with lung cancer. Despite challenges throughout my LC  journey, I’m doing well as I continue with immunotherapy.  But there are moments when the enormity of LC overwhelms me, especially since Covid.  I rarely let anyone see me with anything but a smile on my face, not even my doctors.  So I guess that’s why I’m here....not to complain or be a downer, but to feel less alone and hopefully help others as well. 

Thank you for “listening” and be well!
Judi 😊

Hi Judi,  welcome.   I will be 73 on August 4th.  I was diagnosed when I was 50.  I had Stage 3B  lung cancer.  

I love your attitude.  Positive attitude is really helpful to your body .  Prayer is also great medicine.  There was no immunotherapy 23 yrs ago.

It is wonderful all the "new" options that are available now.  Please keep us posted on how you are doing.

Donna G

Hey, Judi, 

Nice to meet you! I'm in Camden County, right across the river from Philly. I had an upper left lobectomy three years ago for what turned out to be Stage Ib adenocarcinoma. Since then, I've had no additional treatment, but have been getting CT scans every six months. I just went for my visit with the oncologist after my most recent scan, and received the lovely news that it appears I may have a new cancer in my lower right lobe. Next step is a PET scan--just waiting for the insurance authorization on that.