Lung cancer survivor with GREAT news!

Nana Jane

I am so very happy to bring hopeful good news to you all. I was diagnosed with Stage IV non-small cell lung cancer in July 2004, at the age of 65...never a smoker, no family history, no risk factors. One of those unfortunate statistics. With disease already spread into my bones, I was sure I was looking at a very short life span. My heart was broken, as I still have so much more living to do. I'm a cancer research nurse, and the irony and injustice of the diagnosis overwhelmed me. I don't know why I thought I was so special that I would be exempt from cancer. Wow! have I ever learned from the cancer master! No one is exempt, and we are all special in our own being. And we need each other to get through the dark and frightening times. You all have supported me by sharing your experiences and encouraging me. So now I want to share my good news. After surgery, six months of chemotherapy and 8 weeks on Iressa, I had restaging PET and CT scans done last week, and (miracle of miracles) there was no evidence of disease ANYWHERE in my body. I can hardly believe it, and I'm overjoyed. I will remain on Iressa, as my doctors believe it is what put me into remission and hopefully will hold me there for a good long while. Deep in my heart, I don't believe I'll ever be able to not worry about recurrence, but that's what we all live with, isn't it? And I've learned there are no guarantees in this life, so I will live strong now in the present. (Except I did allow myself to project a future far enough to schedule a trip to France in May, something that's been on my list of "Things I want to do before I die." I'm paying more attention to that list these days.